Gallery

The beginning of my Peace Corp application journey: starting, stopping and beginning again

My first itch to join the Peace Corp started a couple of months after I graduated from college around five years ago. I just started a new job, so I didn’t start my application until many months later. When I finally got my references to turn in the recommendations, I finally hit that submit button. Next step was interview, I passed with flying colors (so I think), then I was told the next steps would be finger printing, medical, dental and other things that I am probably forgetting. It took forever to turn in everything, but I finally did and awaited my response. Unfortunately the next steps were not an option for me at the time, I needed to have expensive dental work done in order to be considered further. So, after that the Peace Corps dream of mine had to be put back on the back burner for a while.

I ended up moving back to my home town and taking a job with a company I worked for during my undergrad. One day while talking with an old roommate from college, we talked about getting out of our area and moving west. So to make a long story short, I ended up moving west and transferring with my job at the time. The transfer turned out to be a nightmare, which was a blessing in disguise. If I was not so unhappy with my job, I would never have made the changes in my life that led me to where I am today. I was in a terrible job that I was fed up to the point  that I was considering walking out one day, which is something that is completely out of character for me. I thought about my options and what I really wanted to do with my life and fortunately I found it. I ended up going back to school for my master of arts and quitting my terrible, horrible, no good job. It is an extremely fulfilling feeling to finally find your calling and start on a path to something especially right for you.

After about a year of graduate studies I started thinking about what I wanted to do next and of course my peace corps dream started coming to mind again. Though many things changed during my life including my job, my location and my decision to give become a vegetarian (going 3 years strong), serving in the Peace Corps was always something I wanted to do. I know if I never do it, I will certainly regret it for the rest of my life. So that became the “what” of my “what’s next”, I started thinking about when I should apply and decided on the spring. Anyone who has applied knows that the application process takes forever, plus I am a very busy woman, working full time and going to grad school full time makes time and sleep hard to come by. Eventually I filled out everything and my wonderful and prompt references all turned their recommendations in within a few days of me asking. The beginning of my journey starts again…

Leave a Reply

